Anthropology

Anthropology Logo

“Anthropology demands the open-mindedness with which one must look and listen, record in astonishment and wonder that which one would not have been able to guess.”
– Margaret Mead

Anthropology is the study of human societies, their cultures, and their development. The aim of anthropology is to use a broad approach to gain an understanding of our past, present, future and address the problems humans face in biological, social and cultural life. This course will explore the evolution, similarity, and diversity of humankind through time. It will look at how we have evolved from a biologically and culturally weak species of primarily hunters and gatherers, to an advanced one that has the ability to cause catastrophic change with atomic weapons, but also create Doritos Locos tacos. The major units will look at what Anthropology is, how humans have evolved over time, including how we live, how we dress, what we believe, how we form groups, and how we provide for and interact with one another.

A few key reminders:

  • CLICK HERE FOR ZOOM LINK FOR LIVE-STREAM CLASSES
  • A recording for the beginning of each class (TO INCLUDE THE JOURNAL QUESTION) will be posted.
    That recording WILL include entire lectures, activities, or projects, but NOT quizzes, tests, etc.
  • While lectures will be recorded and streamed, the PPT and PDF versions of each PPT is also available on the schedule.
  • Direct any questions to CPT Curtis at jcurtis@utahmilitaryacademy.org

ANTHROPOLOGY – Spring 2023* (Terms 3 & 4) 

Wednesday, Jan 18 – Classroom Orientation / Disclosure (DUE Jan 25)

Monday, Jan 23 – NOTES – Day 1 – Introduction to Anthropology

Wednesday, Jan 25Evolution of Me (DUE Feb 1)

Friday, Jan 27 – Artifact “Show and Tell” – History of a Thing

Monday, Jan 30 – NOTES – Day 2 – Theories in Anthropology

Wednesday, Feb 1QUIZ – Days 1 & 2

Monday, Feb 6 – NOTES Day 3 – Bones and Tools

Wednesday, Feb 8 – Study Guide – Anthropology Basics

Friday, Feb 10 – Jeopardy

Monday, Feb 13 – TEST – Anthropology Basics / Extra Credit Article

Wednesday, Feb 15 – NOTES – Day 1 – Evolution

Wednesday, Feb 22 –

Friday, Feb 24 – NOTES – Day 2

Monday, Feb 27 – QUIZ –

Wednesday, Mar 1 – NOTES – Day 3

Friday, Mar 3 –

Monday, Mar 6 –

Wednesday, Mar 8 –

Monday, Mar 13 –

Wednesday, Mar 15 –

Monday, Mar 20 –

Wednesday, Mar 22 –

End Term 3 (22 Days)

 

Monday, Mar 27 –

Wednesday, Mar 29 –

Friday, Mar 31 –

Spring Break Apr 3-7

Monday, Apr 10 –

Wednesday, Apr 12 –

Monday, Apr 17 –

Wednesday, Apr 19 –

Friday, Apr 21 –

Monday, Apr 24 –

Wednesday, Apr 26 –

Monday, May 1 –

Wednesday, May 3 –

Friday, May 5 –

Monday, May 8 –

Wednesday, May 10 –

Monday, May 15 –

Wednesday, May 17 –

Friday, May 19 –

Monday, May 22 – CPT Curtis 10 Rules for Life (Final Lesson)

Wednesday, May 24 – Class Party? / Final Presentations for Procrastinators

Friday, May 26 – Last Day of School

End Term 4 / Semester 2 (20 Days)

*SUBJECT TO CHANGE (Changes will be updated weekly on class website and Canvas)

Direct any questions to CPT Curtis at jcurtis@utahmilitaryacademy.org