World Geography

Untitled

“You can’t know where you are going, if you don’t know where you are now.”   – Charles De Gaulle

“To truly understand WHO you are, you must understand WHERE you are.”   – Josephine Hart

“Geography has made us all neighbors.”   – John F Kennedy

The Goal of World Geography is to teach Cadets to understand the world in spatial terms, including the human and physical characteristics of places. They will understand the human and physical interaction in their environment, the elements that make up culture, and the human influence on the world. The goal of this course is NOT to “memorize all the countries of the world on a map,” but, rather, to recognize the regions of the world, elements of them, how to read and interpret maps, and see themselves as a cultural, physical, and vital part of the global world.

A few key reminders:

  • CLICK HERE FOR ZOOM LINK FOR LIVE-STREAM CLASSES
  • A recording for the beginning of each class (TO INCLUDE THE JOURNAL QUESTION) will be posted.
    That recording WILL include entire lectures, activities, or projects, but NOT quizzes, tests, etc.
  • While lectures will be recorded and streamed, the PPT and PDF versions of each PPT is also available on the schedule.

WORLD GEOGRAPHY– Fall 2022* (Terms 1 & 2)

Monday, Aug 22 – Classroom Orientation / Disclosure (DUE Aug 26)

Wednesday, Aug 24 – NOTES – Day 1 – Geography – What, Why, and How

Friday, Aug 26Quiz – Themes of Geography & Class Rules

Monday, Aug 29 – NOTES – Day 2 – Maps

Wednesday, Aug 31MOWYL (Map of Where You Live) (DUE Sep 14)

Wednesday, Sep 7 – Finish MOWYL (Map of Where You Live) (DUE Sep 14)

Friday, Sep 9World Map Pre-Assessment / CATCH-UP DAY (finish MOWYL) (DUE Sep 14)

Monday, Sep 12 – NOTES – Day 3 – Globes and Regions

Wednesday, Sep 14 – Making A World Map (Group Assignment) (DUE Sep 21)

Monday, Sep 19 – NOTES – Day 4 – Time Zones

Wednesday, Sep 21Study Guide – Geography Basics, Maps, the Globe, and Regions (DUE Sep 28)

Friday, Sep 23 – Work on Study Guide

Monday, Sep 26– Finish Study Guide / Play Kahoot

Wednesday, Sep 28 – TEST – Geography Basics, Maps, the Globe, and Regions / Extra Credit Article

Monday, Oct 3 – NOTES –Day 1 – Weather and Climate

Wednesday, Oct 5 – NOTES – Day 2 – Seasons and Weather

Friday, Oct 7 – Climate Change Discussion

Monday, Oct 10 – Weather and Seasons Handout (DUE Oct 17)

Wednesday, Oct 12 – Study Guide – Climate and Seasons (DUE Oct 19)

Monday, Oct 17 – Jeopardy / Review for Test

Wednesday, Oct 19 – TEST – Climate and Seasons / Extra Credit Article

End Term 1 (21 days)

 

Monday, Oct 24 – NOTES – Day 1 – Culture

Wednesday, Oct 26 – My Personal Culture Handout (DUE Nov 4)

Monday, Oct 31 – NOTES – Day 2 – Immigration and Counterculture

Wednesday, Nov 2 – QUIZ – Culture and Counter-Culture

Friday, Nov 4 – World Culture and World As A Village Activity

Monday, Nov 7 – NOTES – Day 3 – Culture Groups and Stereotypes

Wednesday, Nov 9 – Prejudice / Racism Activity / Handout (DUE Nov 16)

Monday, Nov 14 – NOTES – Day 4 – Gender roles

Wednesday, Nov 16 – Study Guide – Cultural Geography (DUE Nov 28)

Friday, Nov 18 – Jeopardy / Review for Test

Thanksgiving Break Nov 21-25

Monday, Nov 28 – TEST – Cultural Geography

Wednesday, Nov 30 – Final Project Example / Choosing Topics & Partners

Monday, Dec 5 – Final Project Work (DUE Dec 12)

Wednesday, Dec 7 – Final Project Work (DUE Dec 12)

Friday, Dec 9 – Final Project Work (DUE Dec 12)

Monday, Dec 12 – Final Project Presentations / Calendar and Topics

Wednesday, Dec 14 – Final Project Presentations / Calendar and Topics

Winter Break Dec 19-30

Monday, Jan 2 – Final Project Presentations / Calendar and Topics

Wednesday, Jan 4 – Final Project Presentations / Calendar and Topics

Friday, Jan 6 – Final Project Presentations / Calendar and Topics

Monday, Jan 9 – CPT Curtis 10 Rules for Life (Final Lesson)

Wednesday, Jan 11 – Class Party? (or Final Presentations for Procrastinators)

End Term 2 / Semester 1 (22 days

*SUBJECT TO CHANGE (Changes will be updated weekly on class website and Canvas)

Direct any questions to CPT Curtis at jcurtis@utahmilitaryacademy.org