Government and Citizenship

governmentandcitizenship

“I know of no safe depository of the ultimate powers of the society but the people themselves; and if we think them not enlightened enough to exercise their control with a wholesome discretion, the remedy is not to take it from them, but to inform their discretion.”
– Thomas Jefferson

The goal of this course is for Cadets to understand the general forms of government that exist in the world, the differences between core political theory, and then understand the evolution of the American Form of Government – as studied through our “Founding Documents.” The second term focuses on the structure and makeup of the U.S. Government and concludes with the responsibilities of American Citizens.

KEY NOTE: In order to graduate high school in the State of Utah, a student must pass a “Citizenship Test,” consisting of 50 multiple-choice questions, taken from the Utah Government website. A passing score is 70% (35 questions correct). Taking and passing this exam is part of this course as well. CLICK HERE FOR A STUDY GUIDE FOR CIVICS EXAM

The course is divided into
Unit 1 – Forms of Government
Unit 2 – Documents of Freedom
Unit 3 – American Government

A few key reminders:

  • CLICK HERE FOR ZOOM LINK FOR LIVE-STREAM CLASSES
  • A recording for the beginning of each class (TO INCLUDE THE JOURNAL QUESTION) will be posted.
    That recording WILL include entire lectures, activities, or projects, but NOT quizzes, tests, etc.
  • While lectures will be recorded and streamed, the PDF version of each PPT is also available on the schedule.
  • This is a ONE Semester Class, but required for Graduation
  • Direct any questions to CPT Curtis at jcurtis@utahmilitaryacademy.org

GOVERNMENT & CITIZENSHIP – Spring 2023

Wednesday, Jan 18 – Classroom Orientation / Disclosure (DUE Jan 25)

Monday, Jan 23Island Nation Handout (DUE Jan 25)

Wednesday, Jan 25 – NOTES – Day 1 – Why Government 

Friday, Jan 27Forms of Government Handout (Due Feb 1), FOG Poster (Due Feb 13)

Monday, Jan 30 – NOTES – Day 2 – Forms of Government

Wednesday, Feb 1FOG Poster Work (DUE Feb 13)

Monday, Feb 6 – NOTES – Day 3 – Communism vs Capitalism

Wednesday, Feb 8 – C vs C Handout (DUE Feb 15) / Quiz?

Friday, Feb 10 – NOTES – Day 4 – Propaganda

Monday, Feb 13 – Study Guide – Forms of Government (DUE Feb 22)

Wednesday, Feb 15 – Jeopardy / Review For Test

Wednesday, Feb 22 – TEST – Forms of Government / Extra Credit Article

Friday, Feb 24 – NOTES – Day 1 – Magna Carta and Philosophes

Monday, Feb 27 – QUIZ – M.C. and Philosophes

Wednesday, Mar 1 – NOTES – Day 2 – Mayflower and Flushing

Friday, Mar 3 – Mayflower Handout (DUE Mar 8) / Rewriting the Compact

Monday, Mar 6 – NOTES – Day 3 – The Declaration of Independence

Wednesday, Mar 8 – Declaration Vs. Treatise Handout (DUE Mar 15)

Monday, Mar 13 – NOTES – Day 4 – AOC and Constitutional Convention

Wednesday, Mar 15 – Study Guide – Documents of Freedom (DUE Mar 22)

Monday, Mar 20 – Jeopardy / Review For Test

Wednesday, Mar 22 – TEST – Documents of Freedom / Extra Credit Article

End Term 3 (22 Days)

Monday, Mar 27 – NOTES – Day 1 – Articles and Three Branches

Wednesday, Mar 29 – Checks and Balances Handout (DUE Apr 10) / Quiz on 3 Branches

Friday, Mar 31 – U.S. Civics Test (*Required for Graduation) (STUDY PREP HELP)

Spring Break Apr 3-7

Monday, Apr 10 – NOTES – Day 2 – Remaining Articles and Themes

Wednesday, Apr 12 – Writing A Bill (DUE Apr 19)

Monday, Apr 17 – NOTES – Day 3 – How A Bill Becomes A Law

Wednesday, Apr 19 – Mock Congress Day 1

Friday, Apr 21 – SERVICE DAY (No Formal Classes)

Monday, Apr 24 – Mock Congress Day 2

Wednesday, Apr 26 – NOTES – Day 4 – Amendments – Process and Bill of Rights

Monday, May 1 – NOTES – Day 5 – Amendments – Remaining Changes

Wednesday, May 3 – Special Guest – Due Process

Friday, May 5 – Study Guide – Constitution  (DUE May 10)

Monday, May 8 – Jeopardy / Prepare For Test           

Wednesday, May 10 – TEST – Constitution / Extra Credit Article

Monday, May 15 – Political Issues & Debate

Wednesday, May 17 – Political Issues & Debate

Friday, May 19 – Ten Rules for Life (Final Lesson) – Seniors’ Last Day

Monday, May 22 – Political Issues & Debate

Wednesday, May 24 – TBD (Class Party?)

Friday, May 26 – Last Day of School

End Term 4 / Semester 2 (20 Days)

*SUBJECT TO CHANGE (Changes will be updated weekly on class website and Canvas)
Direct Questions to CPT Curtis at jcurtis@utahmilitaryacademy.org