Government Calendar and Assignments

FALL 2019 (Terms 1 & 2) A Day Schedule

Monday, Aug 19 – Classroom Orientation / Disclosure (DUE Aug 23) / Civics Test Pre-Assessment

Wednesday, Aug 21 – NOTES – Day 1 – Why Government / Island Nation (DUE Aug 23)

Friday, Aug 23 – Creating A Class Government Discussion

Monday, Aug 26 – QUIZ – Day 1 / Why Government / Institute Class Government

Wednesday, Aug 28 – Types of Government Handout (DUE Sep 4) / FOG Poster

LABOR DAY / NO SCHOOL Sep 2

Wednesday, Sep 4 – NOTES – Day 2 – Forms of Government

Friday, Sep 6 –  Forms Of Government Poster (DUE Sep 16)

Monday, Sep 9 – NOTES – Day 3 – Communism vs Capitalism

Wednesday, Sep 11 – Special 9/11 Lesson

Monday, Sep 16 – C vs. C Handout (DUE Sep 18) / FOG Poster Finish

Wednesday, Sep 18 – Quiz – FOG / Communism / Propaganda Discussion

Monday, Sep 23 – NOTES – Day 4 – Propaganda

Wednesday, Sep 25 – Study Guide – Forms of Government (DUE Sep 30)

Friday, Sep 27 – JEOPARDY

Monday, Sep 30 – TEST – Forms of Government

Wednesday, Oct 2 – NOTES – Day 1 – Magna Carta and Philosophes

Monday, Oct 7 – QUIZ – Magna Philosophes

Wednesday, Oct 9 – NOTES – Day 2 – Mayflower and Flushing

Friday, Oct 11 – Mayflower Compact (DUE Oct 21) / Rewriting the Compact

Monday, Oct 14 – NOTES – Day 3 – The Declaration of Independence

FALL BREAK Oct 16-20

End Term 1 (20 days)

 

Monday, Oct 21 – Declaration of Independence and Treatise on Government (DUE Oct 25)

Wednesday, Oct 23 – NOTES – Day 4 – AOC and Constitutional Convention

Friday, Oct 25 – Study Guide – Documents of Freedom (DUE Oct 30)

Monday, Oct 28 – JEOPARDY

Wednesday, Oct 30 – TEST – Documents of Freedom

Monday, Nov 4 – NOTES – Day 1 – Articles and Three Branches

Wednesday, Nov 6 – NOTES – Day 2 – Remaining Articles and Themes

Friday, Nov 8 – QUIZ – 3 Branches & Articles / Branches, Checks & Balances (DUE Nov 13)

Monday, Nov 11 – NOTES – Day 3 – How A Bill Becomes A Law

Wednesday, Nov 13 – Writing A Bill (DUE Nov 18)

Monday, Nov 18 – Mock Congress Day 1

Wednesday, Nov 20 – Mock Congress Day 2

Friday, Nov 22 – Civics Test #1

THANKSGIVING BREAK Nov 23-Dec 1

Monday, Dec 2 – NOTES – Day 5 – Amendments – Process

Wednesday, Dec 4 – Amendment Poster (DUE Dec 18)

Monday, Dec 9 – NOTES – Day 6 – Amendments – Changes

Wednesday, Dec 11 – Study Guide – Constitution (DUE Dec 16)

Friday, Dec 13 – JEOPARDY

Monday, Dec 16 – TEST – Constitution

Wednesday, Dec 18 – Political Parties and Issues / Debate

WINTER BREAK Dec 21-Jan 5

Monday, Jan 6 – Political Parties and Issues / Debate

Wednesday, Jan 8 – Ten Rules to Live By (Final Lesson)

End Term 2 / Semester 1 (22 days)

 

*Civic Duty Assignment (Due during First Term)