Government Calendar and Assignments

SPRING 2019 (Terms 3 & 4) A Day Schedule

Monday, Jan 14 – Classroom Orientation / Open Disclosure – Government and Citizenship (DUE Jan 18)

Wednesday, Jan 16 – NOTES – Day 1 – Why Government

Friday, Jan 18 – Creating a Class Government / Island Nation Handout (DUE Jan 28)

MLK, JR DAY Jan 21

Wednesday, Jan 23 – Quiz – Day 1 / 50 Question Civics Test

Monday, Jan 28 – Types of Government Handout (DUE Jan 30)

Wednesday, Jan 30 – NOTES – Day 2 – Forms of Government

Friday, Feb 1 – Forms of Government Poster (DUE Feb 19)

Monday, Feb 4 – NOTES – Day 3 – Communism vs Capitalism

Wednesday, Feb 6 – Communism Vs Capitalism Handout (DUE Feb 11) / F.O.G. Poster Work

Monday, Feb 11 – Quiz – Forms of Gov’t / Communism

Wednesday, Feb 13 – NOTES – Propaganda

PRESIDENTS WEEKEND Feb 15-18

Tuesday, Feb 19 – Study Guide – Forms of Government (DUE Feb 25)

Wednesday, Feb 20 – ACT Testing, 11th Graders Only at School

Friday, Feb 22 – JEOPARDY

Monday, Feb 25 – TEST – Forms of Government

Wednesday, Feb 27 – NOTES – Magna Carta and the Philosophes

Monday, Mar 4 – Quiz – Magna Carta and Philosophes

Wednesday, Mar 6 – NOTES – Mayflower and Flushing Remonstrance

Friday, Mar 8 – Mayflower Handout / Re-writing (DUE Mar 13)

Monday, Mar 11 – NOTES – Declaration of Independence

Wednesday, Mar 13 – Declaration vs. Treatise on Government Handout (DUE Mar 20)

End Term 3 (20 Days)

 

Monday, Mar 18 – NOTES – Articles of Confederation and the Constitutional Convention

Wednesday, Mar 20 – Study Guide – Documents of Freedom (DUE Mar 25)

Friday, Mar 22 – JEOPARDY

Monday, Mar 25 – TEST – Documents of Freedom

Wednesday, Mar 27 – NOTES – 3 Branches

SPRING BREAK Apr 1-5

Monday, Apr 8 – Checks and Balances Handout (DUE Apr 12)

Wednesday, Apr 10 – NOTES – Articles and Themes

Friday, Apr 12 – Quiz – 3 Branches and Articles

Monday, Apr 15 – NOTES – How A Bill Becomes A Law

Wednesday, Apr 17 – Writing A Bill (DUE Apr 22)

Monday, Apr 22 – Mock Congress

Wednesday, Apr 24 – Mock Congress

Friday, Apr 26 – Civics Test

Monday, Apr 29 – NOTES – Amendments – Process

Wednesday, May 1 – Supreme Court Stories Handout (DUE May 10)

Monday, May 6 – NOTES – Amendments – Content

Wednesday, May 8 – Study Guide – Constitution (DUE May 13)

Friday, May 10 – JEOPARDY

Monday, May 13 – TEST – Constitution

Wednesday, May 15 – Political Issues / Debate

Monday, May 20 – Political Issues / Debate

Wednesday, May 22 – Ten Rules To Live By (Special Lesson)

Friday, May 24 – LAST DAY OF SCHOOL

End Term 4 / Semester 2 (22 Days)