Government Calendar and Assignments

A few key reminders:

  • The Link for “live stream” is https://meet.google.com/czq-dfhi-xrj
  • A recorded version of each class will be uploaded FOR CLASSSES WHERE THERE ARE LECTURES OR INSTRUCTIONS (We don’t need a recorded video of Cadets taking a test, or working on a group project)
  • While lectures will be recorded and streamed, the PDF version of each PPT is also available on the schedule.
  • This is a ONE Semester Class, but required for Graduation

Government – A Day Schedule – Fall 2020

Monday, Aug 24 – Classroom Orientation / Disclosure (DUE AUG 31)

Wednesday, Aug 26Island Nation Handout (DUE Aug 28) / Day 1 – Why Government

Friday, Aug 28 – Create Class Government

Monday, Aug 31 – QUIZ – Day 1 / Class Rules / Why Gov’t – Institute Class Government

Wednesday, Sep 2Forms of Government Handout (DUE Sep 9) / FOG Poster

Labor Day Sep 7

Wednesday, Sep 9Day 2 – Forms of Government

Friday, Sep 11 – Special 9/11 Lesson / Discussion / Sept 11 Article

Monday, Sep 14Day 3 – Communism vs Capitalism

Wednesday, Sep 16C vs C Handout (DUE Sep 21), QUIZ – FOG / Communism

Monday, Sep 21 – Day 4 – Propaganda

Wednesday, Sep 23 – Study Guide – Forms of Government (DUE Sep 30)

Monday, Sep 28 – Jeopardy / Prep for Test

Wednesday, Sep 30 – TEST – Forms of Government

Friday, Oct 2 – FOG Poster Work (DUE Oct 5)

Monday, Oct 5 –  NOTES – Magna Carta and Philosophes

Wednesday, Oct 7 – QUIZ – M.C. and Philosophes

Monday, Oct 12 – NOTES – Mayflower and Flushing

Wednesday, Oct 14 – Mayflower Handout (DUE Oct 19) / Rewriting the Compact

Fall Break Oct 15-16

Monday, Oct 19 – NOTES – Declaration of Independence

Wednesday, Oct 21 – Declaration Vs. Treatise Handout (DUE Oct 28)

End Term 1 (20 days)

 

Monday, Oct 26 – NOTES – Articles of Confederation / Constitutional Convention

Wednesday, Oct 28 – Study Guide – Documents of Freedom (DUE Nov 2)

Friday, Oct 30 – Jeopardy / Prep for Test

Monday, Nov 2 – TEST – Documents of Freedom (Election Ballot Extra)

Wednesday, Nov 4 – NOTES – 3 Branches / Checks and Balances

Monday, Nov 9 – Checks and Balances Handout (DUE Nov 13) / Quiz on 3 Branches

Wednesday, Nov 11 – NOTES – Articles and Themes

Friday, Nov 13 – Writing A Bill (DUE Nov 16)

Monday, Nov 16 – NOTES – HABBAL

Wednesday, Nov 18 – Mock Congress Day 1

THANKSGIVING BREAK Nov 23-27

Monday, Nov 30 – Mock Congress Day 2

Wednesday, Dec 2 – NOTES – Amendment Process

Friday, Dec 4 – Amendment Poster (DUE Dec 14)

Monday, Dec 7 – NOTES – Key Amendment Terms

Wednesday, Dec 9 – Study Guide – Constitution (DUE Dec 16)

Monday, Dec 14 – Jeopardy

Wednesday, Dec 16 – TEST – Constitution

Friday, Dec 18 – Holiday TBD

WINTER BREAK Dec 21-Jan 1

Monday, Jan 4 – U.S. Civics Test

Wednesday, Jan 6 – Political Issues & Debate

Monday, Jan 11 – Political Issues & Debate

Wednesday, Jan 13 – Ten Rules to Live By (Final Lesson)

End Term 2 / Semester 1 (22 days)

Direct Questions to CPT Curtis at jcurtis@utahmilitaryacademy.org