Government Calendar and Assignments

FALL 2018 (Terms 1 & 2) A Day Schedule

Monday, Aug 20 – Classroom Orientation / Disclosure (DUE Aug 24) / Civics Test

Wednesday, Aug 22 – NOTES – Day 1 – Why Government

Friday, Aug 24 – Creating a Class Government

Monday, Aug 27 – Quiz – Day 1 / Island Nations Handout (DUE Aug 29)

Wednesday, Aug 29 – Forms of Government Handout (DUE Sep 5)

LABOR DAY / NO SCHOOL Aug 31-Sep 3

Wednesday, Sep 5 – NOTES – Day 2 – Forms of Government

Monday, Sep 10 – Forms of Government Poster (DUE Sep 24)

Wednesday, Sep 12 – NOTES – CDay 3 – Communism vs Capitalism

Friday, Sep 14 – FOG Poster Work

Monday, Sep 17 – Communism Vs Capitalism Handout (DUE Sep 19)

Wednesday, Sep 19 – Quiz – Forms of Gov’t / Communism

Monday, Sep 24 – NOTES – Day 4 – Propaganda

Wednesday, Sep 26 – Study Guide – Forms of Government (DUE Oct 1)

Friday, Sep 28 – JEOPARDY

Monday, Oct 1 – TEST – Forms of Government

Wednesday, Oct 3 – NOTES – Day 1 – Magna Carta and Philosophes

Monday, Oct 8 – Quiz – Magna Carta and Philosophes

Wednesday, Oct 10 – NOTES – Day 2 – Mayflower and Flushing

Friday, Oct 12 – Mayflower Compact / Re-writing (DUE Oct 22)

Monday, Oct 15 – NOTES – Day 3 – The Declaration of Independence

FALL BREAK Oct 17-19

End Term 1 (20 days)

 

Monday, Oct 22 – Declaration of Independence and Treatise on Government (DUE Oct 26)

Wednesday, Oct 24 – NOTES – Day 4 – AOC and Constitutional Convention

Friday, Oct 26 – Study Guide – Documents of Freedom (DUE Oct 31)

Monday, Oct 29 – JEOPARDY

Wednesday, Oct 31 – TEST – Documents of Freedom

Monday, Nov 5 – NOTES – Day 1 – Articles and Three Branches

Wednesday, Nov 7 – Checks and Balances Handout (DUE Nov 12)

Friday, Nov 9 – NOTES – Day 2 – Remaining Articles and Themes

Monday, Nov 12 – Quiz – 3 Branches and Articles

Wednesday, Nov 14 – NOTES – Day 3 – How A Bill Becomes A Law

THANKSGIVING BREAK Nov 19-23

Monday, Nov 26 – Writing A Bill (DUE Nov 28)

Wednesday, Nov 28 – Mock Congress

Friday, Nov 30 – Mock Congress

Monday, Dec 3 – NOTES – Day 5 – Amendments – Process

Wednesday, Dec 5 – Civics Test

Monday, Dec 10 – NOTES – Day 6 – Amendments – Changes

Wednesday, Dec 12 – Study Guide – Constitution (DUE Dec 17)

Friday, Dec 14 – JEOPARDY

Monday, Dec 17 – TEST – Constitution

WINTER BREAK Dec 19-Jan 1

Wednesday, Jan 2 – Political Issues / Debate

Monday, Jan 7 – Political Issues / Debate

Wednesday, Jan 9 – Ten Rules To Live By (Special Lesson)

End Term 2 / Semester 1 (22 days)