Government and Citizenship

governmentandcitizenship“I know of no safe depository of the ultimate powers of the society but the people themselves; and if we think them not enlightened enough to exercise their control with a wholesome discretion, the remedy is not to take it from them, but to inform their discretion.”
– Thomas Jefferson

The goal of this course is for Cadets to understand the general forms of government that exist in the world, the differences between core political theory, and then understand the evolution of the American Form of Government – as studied through our “Founding Documents.” The second term focuses on the structure and makeup of the U.S. Government and concludes with the responsibilities of American Citizens.

KEY NOTE: In order to graduate high school in the State of Utah, a student must pass a “Citizenship Test,” consisting of 50 multiple-choice questions, taken from the Utah Government website. A passing score is 70% (35 questions correct). Taking and passing this exam is part of this course as well. CLICK HERE FOR A STUDY GUIDE FOR CIVICS EXAM

The course is divided into
Unit 1 – Forms of Government
Unit 2 – Documents of Freedom
Unit 3 – American Government

A few key reminders:

  • CLICK HERE FOR ZOOM LINK FOR LIVE-STREAM CLASSES
  • A recording for the beginning of each class (TO INCLUDE THE JOURNAL QUESTION) will be posted.
    That recording WILL include entire lectures, activities, or projects, but NOT quizzes, tests, etc.
  • While lectures will be recorded and streamed, the PDF version of each PPT is also available on the schedule.
  • This is a ONE Semester Class, but required for Graduation
  • Direct any questions to CPT Curtis at jcurtis@utahmilitaryacademy.org

GOVERNMENT & CITIZENSHIP – Fall 2022* (Terms 1 & 2)

Monday, Aug 22 – Classroom Orientation / Disclosure (DUE Aug 26)

Wednesday, Aug 24Island Nation Handout (DUE Jan 26) / Create Class Government

Friday, Aug 26 – NOTES – Day 1 – Why Government

Monday, Aug 29Forms of Government Handout (Due Sep 7), FOG Poster (Due Sep 19)

Wednesday, Aug 31 – NOTES – Day 2 – Forms of Government

Wednesday, Sep 7FOG Poster Work (DUE Sep 19)

Friday, Sep 9 – NOTES – Day 3 – Communism vs Capitalism

Monday, Sep 12C vs C Handout (DUE Sep 21) / Quiz?

Wednesday, Sep 14 – NOTES – Day 4 – Propaganda

Monday, Sep 19Study Guide – Forms of Government (DUE Sep 23)

Wednesday, Sep 21 – Jeopardy / Review For Test

Friday, Sep 23TEST – Forms of Government / Extra Credit Article

Monday, Sep 26 – NOTES – Day 1 – Magna Carta and Philosophes

Wednesday, Sep 28 –– QUIZ – M.C. and Philosophes

Monday, Oct 3 – NOTES – Day 2 – Mayflower and Flushing

Wednesday, Oct 5 –– Mayflower Handout (DUE Oct 10) / Rewriting the Compact

Friday, Oct 7 – NOTES – Day 3 – The Declaration of Independence

Monday, Oct 10Declaration Vs. Treatise Handout (DUE Oct 17)

Wednesday, Oct 12 – NOTES – Day 4 – AOC and Constitutional Convention

Monday, Oct 17Study Guide – Documents of Freedom (DUE Oct 24)

Wednesday, Oct 19 – Jeopardy / Review For Test

End Term 1 (21 days)

 

Monday, Oct 24TEST – Documents of Freedom / Extra Credit Article

Wednesday, Oct 26 – NOTES – Day 1 – Articles and Three Branches

Monday, Oct 31Checks and Balances Handout (DUE Nov 4) / Quiz on 3 Branches

Wednesday, Nov 2 – NOTES – Day 2 – Remaining Articles and Themes

Friday, Nov 4Writing A Bill (DUE Nov 9)

Monday, Nov 7 – NOTES – Day 3 – How A Bill Becomes A Law

Wednesday, Nov 9 – Mock Congress Day 1

Monday, Nov 14 – Mock Congress Day 2

Wednesday, Nov 16 – Mock Congress Day 3

Friday, Nov 18 – NOTES – Day 4 – Amendments – Process

Thanksgiving Break Nov 21-25

Monday, Nov 28 –  Day 5 – Amendments – Changes

Wednesday, Nov 30 – NOTES – Amendment Poster (DUE Dec 7) 

Monday, Dec 5 – Special Guest – Due Process

Wednesday, Dec 7 – Study Guide – Constitution  (DUE Dec 12)

Friday, Dec 9 – Jeopardy / Review For Test

Monday, Dec 12 – TEST – Constitution / Extra Credit Article

Wednesday, Dec 14 – U.S. Civics Test (*Required for Graduation) (Civics Test Prep Help)

Winter Break Dec 19-30

Monday, Jan 2 – Political Issues & Debate

Wednesday, Jan 4 – Political Issues & Debate

Friday, Jan 6 – Political Issues & Debate

Monday, Jan 9 – CPT Curtis 10 Rules for Life (Final Lesson)

Wednesday, Jan 11 – TBD (Class Party?)

End Term 2 / Semester 1 (22 days)

 

*SUBJECT TO CHANGE (Changes will be updated weekly on class website and Canvas)

Direct Questions to CPT Curtis at jcurtis@utahmilitaryacademy.org