US History II Calendar and Assignments

A few key reminders:

  • The Link for “live stream” is https://meet.google.com/czq-dfhi-xrj
  • A recorded version of each class will be uploaded FOR CLASSSES WHERE THERE ARE LECTURES OR INSTRUCTIONS (We don’t need a recorded video of Cadets taking a test, or working on a group project)
  • While lectures will be recorded and streamed, the PPT and PDF versions of each PPT is also available on the schedule.

U.S. History II (B1, B2, B4, B5) – B Day Schedule – 2020-2021

Tuesday, Aug 25 – Classroom Orientation / Disclosure (DUE Sep 1)

Thursday, Aug 276 Themes of History / My Personal History (DUE Sep 4)

Tuesday, Sep 1Quiz – Class Rules and Themes of History / Extra Credit Artifact “Show and Tell”

Thursday, Sep 3US History I Review and Assessment (DUE Sep 4)

Friday, Sep 4 – Review US History I Assessment

LABOR DAY Sep 7

Tuesday, Sep 8Day 1 – Expansion and Immigration

Thursday, Sep 10QUIZ – Expansion and Immigration

Tuesday, Sep 15Day 2 – The Gilded Age

Thursday, Sep 17Assembly Line Activity

Friday, Sep 18Yellow Journalism Assignment (DUE Oct 9)

Tuesday, Sep 22 – Day 3 – Spanish American War

Thursday, Sep 24 – Study Guide – SAW (DUE Oct 1)

Tuesday, Sep 29 – Jeopardy / Test Prep

Thursday, Oct 1 – TEST – Gilded Age and SAW

Tuesday, Oct 6 – NOTES – Causes of WWI

Thursday, Oct 8 – Causes of WWI Crossword (Due Oct 13)

Friday, Oct 9 – Finish Yellow Journalism / Crossword / Test Corrections

Tuesday, Oct 13 – NOTES – A New Type of War

FALL BREAK Oct 15-16

Tuesday, Oct 20 – NOTES – War at Home and Abroad

Thursday, Oct 22 – QUIZ – New War and WWI Changes

End Term 1 (20 days)
Begin Term 2

 

Tuesday, Oct 27 – NOTES – End of WWI

Thursday, Oct 29 – Study Guide – WWI (DUE Nov 5)

Tuesday, Nov 3 – Jeopardy / Test Prep

Thursday, Nov 5 – TEST – WWI

Friday, Nov 6 – WWI Scavenger Hunt

Tuesday, Nov 10 – NOTES – Roaring Twenties

Thursday, Nov 12 – NOTES – Social Revolution

Tuesday, Nov 17 – Quiz – Roaring Twenties / Social Revolution

Thursday, Nov 19 – NOTES – Great Depression

Friday, Nov 20 – Silent Film Intro

THANKSGIVING BREAK Nov 23-27

Tuesday, Dec 1 – NOTES – The New Deal

Thursday, Dec 3 – Study Guide – Jazz thru Depression

Tuesday, Dec 8 – Jeopardy / Test Prep

Thursday, Dec 10 – TEST – Jazz Thru Depression

Friday, Dec 11 – Silent Film Planning

Tuesday, Dec 15 – Silent Film Work

Thursday, Dec 17 – Silent Film Work (DUE Jan 5)

WINTER BREAK Dec 21-Jan 1

Tuesday, Jan 5 – Silent Film Follow-Up / Review Thus Far

Thursday, Jan 7 – NOTES – Rise of Dictators

Friday, Jan 8 – Silent Film Viewing (TBD)

Tuesday, Jan 12 – Dictators Crossword (DUE Jan 8)

Thursday, Jan 14 – NOTES – The Road to War

End Term 2 / Semester 1 (22 days)
Begin Term 3


Tuesday, Jan 19 – Quiz – Dictators and Road to War

Thursday, Jan 21 – NOTES – The War in Europe

Tuesday, Jan 26 – Holocaust Handout (DUE Jan 29)

Thursday, Jan 28 – NOTES – The War in the Pacific

Friday, Jan 29 – TBD

Tuesday, Feb 2 – WWII Scavenger Hunt

Thursday, Feb 4 – Study Guide – WWII

Tuesday, Feb 9 – Jeopardy / Test Prep

Thursday, Feb 11 – TEST – WWII

PRESIDENTS’ DAY Feb 15

Tuesday, Feb 16 – Tentative ACT Day

Thursday, Feb 18 –  TBD

Tuesday, Feb 23 – Four Freedoms Posters

Thursday, Feb 25 – NOTES – End of WWII / Cold War Begins

Friday, Feb 26 – Space Race Activity

Tuesday, Mar 2 – NOTES – Red Scare and Space Race

Thursday, Mar 4 – QUIZ – Cold War and Space Race

Tuesday, Mar 9 – Protest Songs Activity (DUE Mar 12)

Thursday, Mar 11 – NOTES – Korea and Vietnam

Friday, Mar 12 – Propaganda Cartoons (Soviet and American)

Tuesday, Mar 16 – NOTES – Fall of the USSR

Thursday, Mar 18 – Study Guide – The Cold War (DUE Mar 25)

End Term 3 (21 days)
Begin Term 4

 

Tuesday, Mar 23 – Jeopardy / Test Prep

Thursday, Mar 25 – TEST – The Cold War

Tuesday, Mar 30 – NOTES – Civil Rights and Protest

Thursday, Apr 1 – Protest Sign Handout (DUE Apr 13)

Friday, Apr 2 – NOTES – Silicon Age

SPRING BREAK Apr 5-9

Tuesday, Apr 13 – QUIZ – Civil Rights and Silicon Age

Thursday, Apr 15 – NOTES – 9/11 and War on Terror

Tuesday, Apr 20 – 9/11 Lesson and Discussion

Thursday, Apr 22 – NOTES – Obama thru Trump

Friday, Apr 23 – Letter to the President (DUE Apr 29)

Tuesday, Apr 27 – Study Guide / Millennium

Thursday, Apr 29 – Jeopardy / Test Prep

Tuesday, May 4 – TEST – Millennium

Thursday, May 6 – Final Project Work

Friday, May 7 – Final Project Work

Tuesday, May 11 – Final Project Presentations

Thursday, May 13 – Final Project Presentations

Tuesday, May 18 – Final Project Presentations

Thursday, May 20 – Final Project Presentations

Friday, May 21 – Final Project Presentations

Tuesday, May 25 – Ten Rules for Life (Final Lesson)

Thursday, May 27 – TBD

Friday, May 22 – LAST DAY OF SCHOOL / Graduation

End Term 4 / Semester 2 (22 days)

Direct any questions to CPT Curtis at jcurtis@utahmilitaryacademy.org