US History II

US History II

American history is longer, larger, more various, more beautiful, and more terrible than anything anyone has ever said about it.”
– James Baldwin

“In the course of American history, great steps are taken by ordinary people, and ordinary people are not perfect.”
– Tommy Lee Jones

“We are not makers of History. We are made by History.”
– Martin Luther King, Jr.

   U.S. History II begins where U.S. History I (usually 8th Grade) should have left off – with the end of the American Civil War and Reconstruction. Thus, this year-long class for Juniors will study the rise of the United States as a Global Superpower, from the Turn of the Century and Industrial Revolution, through World War I, the Roaring Twenties, the Great Depression, World War II, the Cold War, and the Modern War on Terrorism, stretching into Iraq, Afghanistan, and President Biden.

Of the many lessons that Cadets should glean from this course, foremost is this – We live in a global world, and the conflicts of their generation tie directly to those of the previous ones.

The Course is divided into the following units:
– Review / Themes of History
Unit 1Westward Ho! / Industrial Revolution / Spanish American War
Unit 2Progressive Reforms / WWI
Unit 3Roaring Twenties / Great Depression
Unit 4Rise of Dictators / WWII
Unit 5Cold War / Civil Rights Era / Korea & Vietnam
Unit 69/11 / War on Terror / Iraq, Afghanistan, and Beyond
Final Projects

A few key reminders:

  • The Link for “live stream” is https://meet.google.com/czq-dfhi-xrj
  • A recording for the beginning of each class (TO INCLUDE THE JOURNAL QUESTION) will be posted.
    That recording WILL include entire lectures, activities, or projects, but NOT quizzes, tests, etc.
  • While lectures will be recorded and streamed, the PPT and PDF versions of each PPT is also available on the schedule.
  • Direct any questions to CPT Curtis at jcurtis@utahmilitaryacademy.org

IF YOU NEED ACCESS TO FIRST SEMESTER (1st & 2nd Term, CLICK HERE)

U.S. History II (B1, B2, B4, B5) – B Day Schedule – 2020-2021 (2nd Semester)

SPRING 2022 (Terms 3 & 4) B Day Schedule*

Tuesday, Jan 18QUIZ – Days 1 & 2 (Road to War / Rise of Dictators) (DUE Jan 20)

Thursday, Jan 20Holocaust Handout (DUE Feb 1)

Friday , Jan 21 – Complete Assignments from Tues / Thur! (Adjusted due to Virtual Learning)

Tuesday, Jan 25 – NOTES – Day 3 – War in Europe

Thursday, Jan 27 – WWII Scavenger Hunt (DUE Feb 3)

Tuesday, Feb 1 – NOTES – Day 4 – War in the Pacific

Thursday, Feb 3 – Study Guide – WWII (DUE Feb 8)

Friday, Feb 4 – Atomic Bomb Discussion (To Bomb or not to Bomb?)

Tuesday, Feb 8 – Jeopardy

Thursday, Feb 10 – TEST – WWII

Tuesday, Feb 15 – Silent Film Viewing Party!

Thursday, Feb 17 – NOTES – Day 1 – The End of WWII / A Cold War Begins

Tuesday, Feb 22 – Space Race Activity

Thursday, Feb 24 – NOTES – Day 2 – Red Scare and Space Race

Tuesday, Mar 1 – QUIZ – Cold War Beginning and Red Scare

Thursday, Mar 3 – NOTES – Day 3 – Korea and Vietnam

Friday, Mar 4 – Propaganda Cartoons

Tuesday, Mar 8 – Protest Songs Handout (DUE Mar 4)

Thursday, Mar 10 – NOTES – Day 4 – The End of the USSR

Tuesday, Mar 15 – Study Guide – Cold War (DUE Mar 22)

Thursday, Mar 17 – Jeopardy

End Term 3 (21 days)

 

Tuesday, Mar 22 – TEST – Cold War

Thursday, Mar 24 – ACT Testing Day – JUNIORS ONLY AT SCHOOL FOR TESTING

Friday, Mar 25 – NOTES – Day 1 – Protest and Civil Rights

Tuesday, Mar 29 – Protest Sign (DUE Apr 14)

Thursday, Mar 31 – NOTES – Day 2 – The Silicon Age

Spring Break Apr 4-8

Tuesday, Apr 12 – Quiz – Civil Rights and Silicon Age

Thursday, Apr 14 – NOTES – Day 3 – War on Terror

Friday, Apr 15 – Letter to the President (DUE Apr 21)

Tuesday, Apr 19 – NOTES – Day 4 – Obama Trump and Biden

Thursday, Apr 21 – Study Guide – Millennium (DUE Apr 28)

Tuesday, Apr 26 – Jeopardy

Thursday, Apr 28 – TEST – Millennium

Friday, Apr 29 – Final Project Work (DUE May 10)

Tuesday, May 3 – Final Project Work (DUE May 10)

Thursday, May 5 – Final Project Work (DUE May 10)

Tuesday, May 10 – Final Project Presentations

Thursday, May 12 – Final Project Presentations

Friday, May 13 – Final Project Presentations

Tuesday, May 17 – Final Project Presentations

Thursday, May 19 – Final Project Presentations

Tuesday, May 24 – Ten Rules for Life (Final Lesson)

Thursday, May 26 – TBD

Friday, May 27 – Graduation / Last Day of School

End Term 4 / Semester 2 (21 days)

*SUBJECT TO CHANGE (Changes will be updated weekly on class website and Canvas)

Direct any questions to CPT Curtis at jcurtis@utahmilitaryacademy.org