US History II

US History II

American history is longer, larger, more various, more beautiful, and more terrible than anything anyone has ever said about it.”
– James Baldwin

“In the course of American history, great steps are taken by ordinary people, and ordinary people are not perfect.”
– Tommy Lee Jones

“We are not makers of History. We are made by History.”
– Martin Luther King, Jr.

   U.S. History II begins where U.S. History I (usually 8th Grade) should have left off – with the end of the American Civil War and Reconstruction. Thus, this year-long class for Juniors will study the rise of the United States as a Global Superpower, from the Turn of the Century and Industrial Revolution, through World War I, the Roaring Twenties, the Great Depression, World War II, the Cold War, and the Modern War on Terrorism, stretching into Iraq, Afghanistan, and President Biden.

Of the many lessons that Cadets should glean from this course, foremost is this – We live in a global world, and the conflicts of their generation tie directly to those of the previous ones.

The Course is divided into the following units:
– Review / Themes of History
Unit 1Westward Ho! / Industrial Revolution / Spanish American War
Unit 2Progressive Reforms / WWI
Unit 3Roaring Twenties / Great Depression
Unit 4Rise of Dictators / WWII
Unit 5Cold War / Civil Rights Era / Korea & Vietnam
Unit 69/11 / War on Terror / Iraq, Afghanistan, and Beyond
Final Projects

A few key reminders:

  • CLICK HERE FOR ZOOM LINK FOR LIVE-STREAM CLASSES
  • A recording for the beginning of each class (TO INCLUDE THE JOURNAL QUESTION) will be posted.
    That recording WILL include entire lectures, activities, or projects, but NOT quizzes, tests, etc.
  • While lectures will be recorded and streamed, the PPT and PDF versions of each PPT is also available on the schedule.
  • Direct any questions to CPT Curtis at jcurtis@utahmilitaryacademy.org

US HISTORY II – Fall 2022* (Term 1 & 2

Tuesday, Aug 23 – Classroom Orientation / Disclosure (DUE Aug 27)

Thursday, Aug 25 – NOTES – 6 Themes of History / My Personal History (DUE Sep 2)

Tuesday, Aug 30US History I Review and Assessment (DUE Sep 1)

Thursday, Sep 1Review US History I Assessment

Friday, Sep 2 – Extra Credit Artifact Show and Tell / Quiz?

Tuesday, Sep 6 – NOTES – Day 1 – Expansion and Immigration

Thursday, Sep 8QUIZ – Expansion and Immigration

Tuesday, Sep 13 – NOTES – Day 2 – The Gilded Age

Thursday, Sep 15Assembly Line Instructions and Pictures

Friday, Sep 16 – NOTES – Day 3 – Spanish American War

Tuesday, Sep 20Yellow Journalism Assignment (DUE Sep 27)

Thursday, Sep 22Study Guide – Creating An Empire (DUE Sep 30)

Tuesday, Sep 27 – Finish Study Guide / Review For Test / Jeopardy

Thursday, Sep 29 – TEST – Creating An Empire / Extra Credit Article

Friday, Sep 30 – NOTES – Day 1 – Causes of WWI

Tuesday, Oct 4 – Causes of WWI Crossword (DUE Oct 11)

Thursday, Oct 6 – NOTES – Day 2 – A New Type of Warfare

Tuesday, Oct 11 – QUIZ – New War and WWI Changes

Tuesday, Oct 18 – NOTES – Day 3 – War at Home and Abroad

Thursday, Oct 20 – WWI Scavenger Hunt (DUE Oct 27)

End Term 1 (20 days)

 

Tuesday, Oct 25 – NOTES – Day 4 – The End of WWI

Thursday, Oct 27 – Study Guide – WWI (DUE Nov 3)

Friday, Nov 1 – Jeopardy / Review For Test

Tuesday, Nov 3 – TEST – WWI / Extra Credit Article

Thursday, Nov 8 – NOTES – Day 1 – The Roaring Twenties

Tuesday, Nov 10 – NOTES – Day 2 – Social Revolution

Friday, Nov 11 – Quiz – Roaring Twenties / Social Revolution

Tuesday, Nov 15 – NOTES – Day 3 – The Great Depression

Thursday, Nov 17 – Silent Film Intro / Topic Choosing

Thanksgiving Break Nov 22-26

Tuesday, Nov 29 – NOTES – Day 4 – The New Deal

Thursday, Dec 1 – Study Guide – Jazz thru Depression (DUE Dec 7)

Friday, Dec 2 – Jeopardy / Review For Test

Tuesday, Dec 6 – TEST – Jazz Thru Depression / Extra Credit Article

Thursday, Dec 8 – Silent Film Handout (DUE Dec 13) / Silent Film Project (DUE Jan 5) / Topics and Groups

Tuesday, Dec 13 – Silent Film Handout (DUE Dec 13) / Silent Film Project (DUE Jan 5) / Topics and Groups

Thursday, Dec 15 – Silent Film Project (DUE Jan 5) / Topics and Groups

Friday, Dec 16 – Christmas Truce of 1914 (special lesson and presentation)

Winter Break Dec 20-31

Tuesday, Jan 3 – Silent Film Project (DUE Jan 5) / Topics and Groups

Thursday, Jan 5 – Finish Silent Film Work! (Watch past years / Extra Credit Article)

Tuesday, Jan 10 – NOTES – Day 1 – The Rise of Dictators

Thursday, Jan 12 – Dictators Crossword (DUE Jan 18. Will count on THIRD Term!)

End Term 2 / Semester 1 (21 days)

*SUBJECT TO CHANGE (Changes will be updated weekly on class website and Canvas)

Direct any questions to CPT Curtis at jcurtis@utahmilitaryacademy.org