US History II

US History II

American history is longer, larger, more various, more beautiful, and more terrible than anything anyone has ever said about it.”
– James Baldwin

“In the course of American history, great steps are taken by ordinary people, and ordinary people are not perfect.”
– Tommy Lee Jones

“We are not makers of History. We are made by History.”
– Martin Luther King, Jr.

   U.S. History II begins where U.S. History I (usually 8th Grade) should have left off – with the end of the American Civil War and Reconstruction. Thus, this year-long class for Juniors will study the rise of the United States as a Global Superpower, from the Turn of the Century and Industrial Revolution, through World War I, the Roaring Twenties, the Great Depression, World War II, the Cold War, and the Modern War on Terrorism, stretching into Iraq, Afghanistan, and President Biden.

Of the many lessons that Cadets should glean from this course, foremost is this – We live in a global world, and the conflicts of their generation tie directly to those of the previous ones.

The Course is divided into the following units:
– Review / Themes of History
Unit 1Westward Ho! / Industrial Revolution / Spanish American War
Unit 2Progressive Reforms / WWI
Unit 3Roaring Twenties / Great Depression
Unit 4Rise of Dictators / WWII
Unit 5Cold War / Civil Rights Era / Korea & Vietnam
Unit 69/11 / War on Terror / Iraq, Afghanistan, and Beyond
Final Projects

A few key reminders:

  • The Link for “live stream” is https://meet.google.com/czq-dfhi-xrj
  • A recording for the beginning of each class (TO INCLUDE THE JOURNAL QUESTION) will be posted.
    That recording WILL include entire lectures, activities, or projects, but NOT quizzes, tests, etc.
  • While lectures will be recorded and streamed, the PPT and PDF versions of each PPT is also available on the schedule.
  • Direct any questions to CPT Curtis at jcurtis@utahmilitaryacademy.org

U.S. History II (B1, B2, B4, B5) – B Day Schedule – 2020-2021 (1st Semester)

FALL 2021 (Terms 1 & 2) B Day Schedule*

Tuesday, Aug 24 – Classroom Orientation / Disclosure (DUE Aug 27)

Thursday, Aug 26 – NOTES – 6 Themes of History / My Personal History (DUE Sep 2)

Friday, Aug 27 – Extra Credit Artifact Show and Tell / Quiz?

Tuesday, Aug 31US History I Review and Assessment (DUE Sep 2)

Thursday, Sep 2 – Review US History I Assessment

Tuesday, Sep 7 – NOTES – Day 1 – Expansion and Immigration

Thursday, Sep 9QUIZ – Expansion and Immigration

Friday, Sep 10 – NOTES – Day 2 – The Gilded Age

Tuesday, Sep 14 – Assembly Line Activity

Thursday, Sep 16 –NOTES – Day 3 – Spanish American War

Tuesday, Sep 21Yellow Journalism Assignment (DUE Oct 1)

Thursday, Sep 23Study Guide – SAW (DUE Sep 30)

Tuesday, Sep 28 – Jeopardy

Thursday, Sep 30TEST – Gilded Age and SAW / Extra Credit Article

Friday, Oct 1 – NOTES – Day 1 – Causes of WWI

Tuesday, Oct 5Causes of WWI Crossword (DUE Oct 7)

Thursday, Oct 7 – Finish Yellow Journalism / Crossword / Test Corrections

Tuesday, Oct 12 – NOTES – Day 2 – A New Type of Warfare

Tuesday, Oct 19QUIZ – New War and WWI Changes

Thursday, Oct 21 – NOTES – Day 3 – War at Home and Abroad

End Term 1 (20 days)

 

Tuesday, Oct 26 – NOTES – Day 4 – The End of WWI

Thursday, Oct 28 – Study Guide – WWI (DUE Nov 2)

Friday, Oct 29 – Jeopardy

Tuesday, Nov 2 – TEST – WWI / Extra Credit Article

Thursday, Nov 4 – WWI Scavenger Hunt / Posters for Hunt (DUE Nov 12)

Tuesday, Nov 9 – NOTES – Day 1 – The Roaring Twenties

Thursday, Nov 11 – NOTES – Day 2 – Social Revolution

Friday, Nov 12 – Quiz – Roaring Twenties / Social Revolution

Tuesday, Nov 16 – NOTES – Day 3 – The Great Depression

Thursday, Nov 18 – NOTES – Day 4 – The New Deal

Thanksgiving Break Nov 22-26

Tuesday, Nov 30 – Study Guide – Jazz thru Depression (DUE Dec 3)

Thursday, Dec 2 – Jeopardy

Friday, Dec 3 – TEST – Jazz Thru Depression / Extra Credit Article

Tuesday, Dec 7 – Silent Film Intro / Topic Choosing

Thursday, Dec 9 – Silent Film Work (DUE Jan 4)

Tuesday, Dec 14 – Silent Film Work (DUE Jan 4)

Thursday, Dec 16 – Silent Film Work (DUE Jan 4)

Friday, Dec 17 –  Christmas Truce of 1914 Song and Video

Winter Break Dec 20-31

Tuesday, Jan 4 – Silent Film Work (DUE Jan 4)

Thursday, Jan 6 – NOTES – Day 1 – The Rise of Dictators

Tuesday, Jan 11 – Dictators Crossword (DUE Jan 13)

Thursday, Jan 13 – NOTES – Day 2 – Road to War

End Term 2 / Semester 1 (22 days)

*SUBJECT TO CHANGE (Changes will be updated weekly on class website and Canvas)

Direct any questions to CPT Curtis at jcurtis@utahmilitaryacademy.org