US History II Calendar and Assignments

FALL 2019 (Terms 1 & 2) B Day Schedule

Tuesday, Aug 20 – Classroom Orientation / Disclosure (DUE Aug 27)

Thursday, Aug 22 – NOTES – 6 Themes of History

Tuesday, Aug 27 – Quiz – Themes of History / Artifact “Show and Tell”

Thursday, Aug 29 – US History I Review and Assessment (DUE Aug 30)

Friday, Aug 30 – Review Assessment / Crash Course U.S. History I

LABOR DAY / NO SCHOOL – Sep 2

Tuesday, Sep 3 – NOTES – Day 1 – Expansion and Immigration

Thursday, Sep 5 – Quiz – Expansion and Immigration

Tuesday, Sep 10 – NOTES – Day 2 – The Gilded Age

Thursday, Sep 12 – Assembly Line Activity

Friday, Sep 13 – Yellow Journalism Assignment (DUE Oct 4)

Tuesday, Sep 17 – NOTES – Day 3 – Spanish American War

Thursday, Sep 19 – Study Guide – Expansion, Immigration, and SAW (DUE Sep 26)

Tuesday, Sep 24 – JEOPARDY

Thursday, Sep 26 – TEST – Spanish American War / Turn of Century*

Tuesday, Oct 1 – NOTES – Day 1 – Causes of WWI

Thursday, Oct 3 – Day 1 Crossword (DUE Oct 8)

Friday Oct 4 – Finish Yellow Journalism / Crossword

Tuesday, Oct 8 – NOTES – Day 2 – A New Type of Warfare

Thursday, Oct 10 – Special Guest – SSG Wilcox

Tuesday, Oct 15 – NOTES – Day 3 – War at Home and Abroad

FALL BREAK Oct 16-20

End Term 1 (20 days)

 

Tuesday, Oct 22 – WWI Scavenger Hunt – Handout (DUE Oct 24) / Posters

Thursday, Oct 24 – NOTES – Day 4 – The End of WWI

Tuesday, Oct 29 – Study Guide – WWI (DUE Nov 1)

Thursday, Oct 31 – JEOPARDY

Friday, Nov 1 – ASVAB Testing for Juniors (WWI Videos for those not testing)

Tuesday, Nov 5 – TEST – WWI*

Thursday, Nov 7 – NOTES – Day 1 – The Roaring Twenties

Tuesday, Nov 12 – NOTES – Day 2 – Social Revolution

Thursday, Nov 14 – Quiz – Roaring Twenties / Social Revolution

Friday, Nov 15 – Silent Film Introduction

Tuesday, Nov 19 – NOTES – Day 3 – The Great Depression

Thursday, Nov 21 – NOTES – Day 4 – The New Deal

THANKSGIVING BREAK Nov 23-Dec 1

Tuesday, Dec 3 – Study Guide – Twenties thru Depression (DUE Dec 10)

Thursday, Dec 5 – JEOPARDY

Friday, Dec 6 – Silent Film / Handout for Groups – Scenes and Captions (DUE Dec 20)

Tuesday, Dec 10 – TEST – Twenties Thru Jazz*

Thursday, Dec 12 – Silent Film Work

Tuesday, Dec 17 – Silent Film Work

Thursday, Dec 19 – NOTES – Day 1 – The Rise of Dictators

Friday, Dec 20 – WWI Truce Activity

WINTER BREAK Dec 21-Jan 5

Tuesday, Jan 7 – NOTES – Day 2 – The Road to War

Thursday, Jan 9 – Silent Film Screening Party

End Term 2 / Semester 1 (22 days)

SPRING 2019 (Terms 3 & 4) B Day Schedule

Tuesday, Jan 14 – Quiz – Dictators and Steps to War

Thursday, Jan 16 – NOTES – Day 3 – War In Europe

Friday, Jan 17 – Holocaust Handout / Activity (Jan 28)

Tuesday, Jan 21 – WWII Scavenger Hunt Handout (DUE Jan 23) / Posters

Thursday, Jan 23 – NOTES – Day 4 – War In The Pacific

Tuesday, Jan 28 – Study Guide – WWII (DUE Jan 31)

Thursday, Jan 30 – JEOPARDY

Friday, Jan 31 – Test – WWII*

Tuesday, Feb 4 – Four Freedoms Activity / Poster (DUE Feb 18)

Thursday, Feb 6 – NOTES – Day 1 – The End of WWII / Cold War Begins

Tuesday, Feb 11 – Space Race Activity

Thursday, Feb 13 – NOTES – Day 2 – The Red Scare and Space Race

PRESIDENTS WEEKEND Feb 14-17

Tuesday, Feb 18 – Quiz – Cold War and Space Race

Thursday, Feb 20 – NOTES – Day 3 – Korea and Vietnam

Tuesday, Feb 25 – Protest Songs Activity / Handout (DUE Mar 5) / PPT for Activity

Thursday, Feb 27 – NOTES – Day 4 – The End of the USSR

Friday, Feb 28 – Propaganda Cartoons (Soviet and American)

Tuesday, Mar 3 – Study Guide – Cold War (DUE Mar 10)

Thursday, Mar 5 – JEOPARDY

Tuesday, Mar 10 – TEST – Cold War*

Thursday, Mar 12 – NOTES – Day 1 – Protest and Civil Rights

End Term 3 (21 days)

 

Tuesday, Mar 17 – Protest Sign and Handout (DUE Mar 26)

Thursday, Mar 19 – NOTES – Day 2 – The Silicon Age

Tuesday, Mar 24 – ACT Testing, 11th Graders Only at School

Thursday, Mar 26 – Quiz – The Silicon Age and Civil Rights

Friday, Mar 27 – 9/11 Discussion / Stories

SPRING BREAK Mar 28 – Apr 5

Tuesday, Apr 7 – NOTES – Day 3 – The War on Terror

Thursday, Apr 9 – TBD

Tuesday, Apr 14 – NOTES – Day 4 – Obama Thru Trump

Thursday, Apr 16 – Study Guide – Millennium (DUE Apr 21)

Friday, Apr 17 – JEOPARDY

Tuesday, Apr 21 – TEST – Millennium*

Thursday, Apr 23 – Letter to the President (DUE Apr 30)

Tuesday, Apr 28 – Final Project Packet Intro / Example

Thursday, Apr 30 – Final Project Work

Friday, May 1 – Final Project Work

Tuesday, May 5 – Final Project Presentations

Thursday, May 7 – Final Project Presentations

Tuesday, May 12 – Final Project Presentations

Thursday, May 14 – Final Project Presentations

Friday, May 15 – Final Project Presentations

Tuesday, May 19 – Ten Rules to Live By (Final Lesson)

Thursday, May 21 – Class Party / Late Presentations if Needed

Friday, May 22 – LAST DAY OF SCHOOL / Graduation

End Term 4 / Semester 2 (21 days)

* Test Correction Policy